DIY Solar: Inspiring and thirst quenching

23Nov09

I love this article on ‘solar air heaters’ here are some site links.
http://sites.google.com/site/mysticsolar/Home/how-it-was-made-2
http://www.theselfrelianthome.com/articles/20/solar-air-heaters
I reckon I should take feather out these guy’s practical can-do caps.  Instead of googling, reviewing, shopping, why not just make your own and have fun drinking beer cans.  It’s a perfect re-cycling project and it works.

What is it ?

Basically a beer can solar panel, where the cans are stuck together in a frame and used to heat air routed out then back into your home, cabin, shed or whatever.

It appears we have moved up to production scale by some chap in Newfoundland, Canada.  Must admit I do like the catchy line, ‘if there’s enough sun to grow grass there’s enough to heat your home !’

Who needs hi-tech government-funded quango based research.  The forest must be a truly inspiring place.  Actually, on going a second google there are lots of these DIY planet savers, but this guy below just went too far.  DIY nuclear deterrent, good first effort

5 Responses to “DIY Solar: Inspiring and thirst quenching”

  1. Lovely good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and needed to say that I have truly enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way, I will be signing up to receive your feed and I hope you post again very soon.

  2. 2 Kola Wells

    You genuinely make it appear so uncomplicated with your presentation, but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking ahead for your next post; I will try to get the knack of it.

  3. I needed to thank you for this great read!! I am unquestionably loving every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

  4. to date, solar panels which generate more than 100Watts are still expensive but hopefully they are getting cheaper each day “

  5. i could only wish that solar panels cost only several hundred dollars, i would love to fill my roof with solar panels :’.


Leave a Reply

